When in Ethiopia Part 1-North

Hello Lovelies:)

For those of you who follow us on Instagram  you know  I (Liz) took a 3 day work related trip to Addis Ababa,Ethiopia.This was my second  visit to the Horn of Africa and I was aflame to say the least.I remember how my first visit was all work related denying me an opportunity to wander around or even shop.This time though it had to be different and the explorer in me was on full alert.I had made a list of everything I wanted to do,but funny enough never got to check them all out giving me all the reason to plan a third visit soon 🙂

Ethiopia is a rugged,landlocked country split by the Great Rift Valley. Little is known about Ethiopia’s travel destinations but then again its Africa….you will never lack wanderlust sites.

Something to know about Ethiopia
Capital city: Addis Ababa
Currency: Ethiopian birr (1 birr=kshs.4.57)
Official Language: Amharic

1.Ethiogerman Park Hotel

I had been debating on whether to visit the North or the West part of this beautiful country but the North won me over with all its picturesque landscapes and deep history.The main North road from Addis was in excellent condition and  I got to enjoy the breathtaking scenery,about 100 km later I had arrived at my destination, Ethiogerman Park Hotel

screenshot_2016-09-06-17-42-12
Standing over a cliff at Ethiogerman park hotel

Located on a beautiful spot on the edge of the valley next to the Debre Libanos turnoff is this hotel with a spectacular view. I remember standing and gazing at the majestic landscapes,just taking all of it in. It was breathtaking and awesomely overwhelming.

screenshot_2016-09-06-17-44-50
View from ethiogerman park hotel

2.Debre Libanos

Debre Libanos was my second stop.It is on the edge of the giant and stunning Jemma valley. This place had an amazing  feeling to it, holy caves and a beautiful new church built by Haile Selassie in 1950s were main attractions. Entrance fee was Birr 50(Ksh 228.50) but the rules say not to enter if you menstruated or had sex in last 48 hours, also my guide said the priest in the cave only gives blessings with holy water if you didn’t eat that morning!!!!!!

screenshot_2016-09-07-13-00-38

3.Portuguese bridge

About 100 metres North of turning to Debre Libanos, reached by footpath is the Portuguese bridge and most favorite part of my North trip. According to my trusty guide, it wasn’t built by 16th century Portuguese as the locals explain, but by Ras Darge at the turn of the 19th-20th centuries using a traditional sealant of limestone and ostrich shells. Paths here lead to stunning views over the valley and dramatic waterfalls as Gur River plunges over the edge in cascades.

screenshot_2016-09-07-12-55-52
A local crossing over the Portuguese bridge

screenshot_2016-09-07-12-55-40

screenshot_2016-09-07-12-59-03
Gur river waterfall

Thank you for stopping by and checking this post out. Hope you enjoyed some of the bits and pieces during my visit .Ethiopia has a deep cultural and historical background which I got to explore on my 2nd and 3rd day ………..look out for our next post………

 🙂

love-and-road-diaries

 


Save

Save

Save

One thought on “When in Ethiopia Part 1-North

Leave a Reply

